Southern Rules

I’ve started to learn a few things the last week…every place has their own rules which govern behavior, and I’d like to not make a complete fool of myself, so here we go:

  1. Under no circumstances shall white be worn after Labor day and before Easter. I thought this was a thing that died out in… oh I don’t know… the 80s. Apparently not, so I am now tasked with locating something to match my navy slacks to, and my white boat shoes shall be retired to the top of the shelf until the spring.
  2. Sweet tea is the topic of much conversation, when in doubt, default to this topic. It’s a safe zone.
  3. No dancing on elevated surfaces. I hadn’t planned to, but now I definitely won’t. My feet shall remain on the ground when dancing.
  4. Greek life = life as we know it. Well, I guess that shall be amended to Greek life, the Grove, and all things SEC Football. If I can’t get fully on board with it, I can certainly appreciate it.
  5. People are apparently always watching your behavior. This morning, the young man hired to tend the grounds at my apartment complex, remarked at how much I walk, and apparently appear to be in a rush to go everywhere. Yesterday, someone remarked at how I am always waiting for the bus (I am), and another person commented that I receive a lot of packages (Amazon is my new best friend).
Leave a Reply

